lance Armstrong returns to racing

The cycling champion will participate in The Des Moines Register’s Great Bicycle Ride across
Iowa in July.

One would think that
after the doping
scandal he confessed
to in an interview
with Oprah Winfrey
back in January, that
Tour de France
seven-time winner
Lance Armstrong
would never race
again. But the 41-
year-old athlete,
despite his destroyed
credibility, has
surprisingly
announced that he
will join The Des
Moines Register
newspaper’s Great
Bicycle Ride across Iowa cycling event this July.
Armstrong says about his brave move just
months after the controversy that rocked the
sport of cycling, “To be honest it’s not a
statement, it’s not an experiment.” The
professional road racer said, “It’s just me
wanting to go ride my bike with what in the
past has been a friendly group of people that
share the same interests.”
The iconic cyclist and cancer survivor is
unfazed about the impending criticism that
he’ll surely run into once he gets on the road
again for the first time after the big scandal.
“I’m well aware my presence is not an easy
topic, and so I encourage people if they want to
give a high-five, great. If you want to shoot me
the bird, that’s OK too…I’m a big boy, and so I
made the bed, I get to sleep in it.”
Armstrong is bent on moving forward and
rebuilding himself after he was stripped of his
7 consecutive Tour de France titles and
dropped by his sponsors. “[I’m] just a dude like
everybody who likes to ride bikes and likes to
drink beer and has made his fair share of
mistakes — and that’s that,” said the once
admired and well-loved celebrity athlete.

source:Aceshowbiz.com

